By Michele Dargan

NBC’s Days of Our Lives celebrated the show’s 45th anniversary with an exclusive red carpet party, reception, and panel discussion hosted by the the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences last week.

Past and present cast members were on hand to commemorate this historic television landmark.

Detroit’s Local 4 WDIV-TV NBC Affiliate anchor, Jon Jordan, was the master-of-ceremonies for a panel that spoke of the show’s legacy as they shared clips of the show’s greatest moments.

Los Angeles Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa and California Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger sent congratulatory letters, which were read aloud.

In addition, there was a live webcast and interactive messaging via Twitter and Facebook.

The swarm of fans who braved record heat and gathered outside to see the stars were given a surprise when the Academy opened its doors to them so they could watch the show from the audience and share in the excitement.

Panelists included Suzanne Rogers, Drake Hogestyn, Maree Cheatham, Melissa Reeves, Bill Hayes, Susan Seaforth Hayes, Kristian Alfonso, Josh Taylor, Charles Shaughnessy, James Galen Gering, Louise Sorel, Joseph Mascolo, James Scott, Arianne Zucker, Alison Sweeney, Nadia Bjorlin, Jay Johnson, Peter Reckell, Bryan Dattilo, Lauren Koslow, and Mary Beth Evans.

Fan favorite host and actor Ty Treadway conducted exclusive backstage interviews with cast members.

Greg Meng, Days of Our Lives Executive in Charge of Production, and Eddie Campbell, television and film art director, were on hand to talk about their coffee table book, Days of our Lives 45 Years: A Celebration in Photos.

The book is being released to coincide with the groundbreaking anniversary on November 8. This book features never-before-seen images of cast, crew, sets, and styling.

Comments are closed.